From tomorrow morning, all those entering the UK (apart from those coming from Ireland) will need to take a pre-booked PCR test within 48 hours of arrival.

These measures follow hot on the heels of the additions to the UK's travel red list last week.  There are now 10 African countries on the red list, including South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.   Only UK or Irish nationals or UK residents are now able to enter from these countries.  Those individuals now have to self-isolate in a government-approved hotel for 10 days and pay the associated fees for this.

These changes are an important reminder for anyone with travel plans to check the current rules as these can change at very short notice.